SHARING CAROL ROUND’S ENCOURAGEMENT FOR YOUR WEEK

Happy Monday Friends & Neighbors!  

It’s my pleasure to share with you my friend Carol Round’s inspiration for this week.  This is fun to read and I’ve found a lot of humor to start my day on a happier note.  Not that I was unhappy…..but Monday is always a day that makes my brain a bit mushy.

And…..an the moment, I’m in big preparations to attend the American Christian Fiction Writers Conference being held just a few minutes up the road from where I live at the DFW Hyatt Regency.  I’m so excited and a bit nervous…I’m a first timer to attend.  I am anticipating a joyous few days getting to know other author friends as well as filling my mind with more facts and information than it can hold…LOL…  One step closer to my dream of writing something meaningful about my walk with Jesus, my stumbles along the way, and the miracles dropped in my path to glorify Jesus and our Abba Father.  So, while I’m about my busy work…..enjoy Carol’s words

A Matter of Faith

Every Day is a Holiday

 

 

“This is the day that the Lord has made;
    let us rejoice and be glad in it”—Psalm 118:24 (ESV).

 

            Have you heard of National Hummingbird Day, National Cheese Pizza Day, Be Late for Something Day, National Iguana Awareness Day, Make Your Bed Day, and one of my favorites, Eat an Extra Dessert Day?

 

            Although most don’t celebrate these unusual days, I was intrigued by the list at the “Holidays for Everyday” website. Some I had never even heard of, but I might implement a few, like an extra dessert on September 4. Oops, I missed that one. Is there such a thing as celebrating belatedly?

 

            I’ll pass on the day to observe awareness of the iguana as I don’t care for lizards. I make my bed each morning so this means I celebrate this holiday daily. I love the hummingbirds who visit my feeder each morning but I don’t know how to make their day special. Be Late for Something Day was celebrated on September 5 but as of this writing, I have two appointments for which I cannot be tardy. I had to skip that one too. That leaves National Cheese Pizza Day, observed on September 4, which has already passed too. However, when I do eat pizza on a rare occasion, I like one loaded with extra veggies.

 

            According to this same website, September 13 is Positive Thinking Day. September 15 has been designated National Thank-You Day. The third Tuesday in September is the International Day of Peace and the 21st is World Gratitude Day. The fourth Sunday in September is a time to observe Good Neighbor Day, while September 28 is Family Health and Fitness Day. What do these six holidays have in common? If you think about it, you will see the connection between these celebrations and scripture.

 

            I located 64 Bible verses about positive thinking, 70 about thankfulness and 54 on gratitude. What about peace? I found 199 passages. I also discovered 90 verses about our neighbors. Looking up the word health, I found 44 verses and 12 about fitness. Verses about the family numbered 116.

 

            Another commonality they share is the relationship between our attitudes and the kind of day we experience when we are living it for God. Consider Psalm 118:24. “This is the day that the Lord has made; let us rejoice and be glad in it.”

 

            If we would begin each day recognizing, regardless of our circumstances, that it is a gift from God, our outlook on life would change. With a positive attitude, we would be grateful, giving thanks, not only to God but also to those He has placed in our lives, including those neighbors we might consider pesky. Think how peaceful our world would become if we observed these holidays, not just on calendar-specific days, but every day. The result would be healthier relationships within our families, within our communities, within our countries and within the world.

 

            We shouldn’t wait for a special day to celebrate but treat each day as one which the Lord has made. That’s a reason to rejoice.

 

Email your comments to the author at carolaround@yahoo.com. For more inspiration, check out her blog at www.carolaround.com.

Connect with me:

Blog: www.carolaround.com
Book website: www.journalingwithjesus.com
Facebook page: http://www.facebook.com/carolaround
Facebook fan page: http://www.facebook.com/JournalingwithJesus
Twitter: http://twitter.com/carolaround

Pinterest: http://pinterest.com/carolaround/
Utube: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=0SJDd1L5VFs

“Are you as close to God as you would like to be?” <*\\\\><

♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥

LOL….hope you enjoyed reading Carol’s encouragement and humor as much as I did.  So – have a great week and I’ll be back again soon to share some things that have touched my heart.  In the meantime I’m praying that you will continue to be blessed by grace!

Barb

Leave a Reply

