NEWS FROM BARB……

Hello,

At the moment, and for an additional 10 days, I am in rainy, cold,  windy Portland, Oregon.  We even lost power for awhile today, and I’ve never seen winds this strong in Oregon before.  I hear the winds along the coast nearby are around 90 mph.  I’m sleeping under bundles of covers at night – this damp cold really gets into my bones.  I am happy to be here anyway!!

My mother is having her 94th birthday and I’m here to celebrate with her, family and friends on her special day.  My brother, Bob and I are planning a reception at her home on Saturday to honor and bless her.  Of course, we will all be celebrating Thanksgiving day on Thursday with our step-brother Bill and his wife Linda at their home in St Helens, OR. – with family there.  Big party week!

We are so blessed to still have mother with us.  The Lord has been good to her and to us.  So – I know you’ll want to join us in wishing her a very happy birthday and for many more blessed years to come.

As you can see, I haven’t been posting for awhile – but I’ll be back in time to start the Advent season and Christmas celebrations at home in Texas.  Take care and enjoy your holidays and celebrations.

Most of all, pray for a more peaceful world to come.  It doesn’t appear to matter where we live – there are problems, critical and tragic everywhere.  As God has told us – “If my people, who are called by my name, would humble themselves and pray…..”  We all have so much to be thankful for and my prayers are for you to have a safe and wonderful Thanksgiving filled with grace, love, renewed relationships, family togetherness and peace.

See you soon!

Hugs,

Barb

5 thoughts on “NEWS FROM BARB……

  1. Barb, my son and his wife live in Vancouver, WA and work in Portland. Been there several times and we love it, The damp weather gets into one’s bones, but never been there when it’s been that blustery. Oy!! Meanwhile, I’m in Wisconsin and to my utter surprise it’ll be in the mid-50’s all week–includes, Thanksgiving. Hope your mother/daughter time is a blessed fun time! 🙂

    Like

    • Hi Linda,
      Sorry for the extremely late reply. I appreciate you sharing. I’m now back home in Texas, and we’re having unseasonably warm weather here. LOL Yes, that damp air in the NW does get into ones bones….especially if they are old and arthritic. Where are you in Wisconsin? My DIL is from Tomahawk, WI. Yes my mother’s 94th birthday lasted for several days….the open house, the church and Thanksgiving….I think she was ready to turn 95 quickly. LOL

      Wishing you a Blessed and Merry Christmas!

      Barb

      Like

  2. Barb, I know you’re enjoying time with family. I can’t imagine being in such weather . It’s a tad chilly in NC, but not cold with extreme wind. 😦 Anyway, despite it all-I know it’s worth it to be with your mom. 94 (wow) that’s great. Have a good turkey day.

    Like

  3. We were in Oregon durning the summer a few years ago. It was gorgeous on the coast. We have talked about retiring there, but it might be too cold for us. I think we’re going to northern Fa. Enjoy your time there w/your mother. 🙂

    Like

    • Hi Nike,
      Goodness, I meant to reply to your comment weeks ago! Oregon is my most favorite spot in this nation. Now that I’m home in Texas again, I’m definitely warmed up….weather is abnormally warm here. Seems like the weather is chanaging everywhere. LOL However, I wouldn’t want to discourage your thoughts about retiring there. You’d be picking a marvelous location to retire. Whatever plans the Lord has for you and yours – I’m sure you’ll be quite happy.

      Blesssings for a Merry Christmas and Happy New Year!

      Barb

      Like

Leave a Reply

